Sort and sift, shine and polish.

As it stands right now, I have five completed short stories that I will be submitting to various publications. Of those five, I still like four of them. Among those four, there are two that I believe are the true standouts. Of course, I will submit all five anyway, plus two more whenever I finish those. I want as much of me floating out there as possible.

What a metaphor.

With any good writer, it is easy to see the pieces of themselves that they have put into their work. Some protagonists are thinly-veiled versions of the authors themselves. Sometimes the antagonists are the easiest to identify with. Sometimes their story is set in the author’s hometown, and you can tell that he knows every nook and cranny of his old neighborhood. Sometimes it’s situational; the author puts his characters through a situation that he himself has been in. These are the ways that stories become real. This is how we connect. This is why we care.

I said a long time ago that I would never write an autobiography. If someone were to read my stories, they would know who I am. Every character, every setting, every situation has a small part of me in there somewhere. It’s all a matter of putting together the pieces—which, after talking to my wife and my close friends, I’ve realized isn’t all that different from knowing me in real life.

I am a guarded person. I don’t know why. As far as I know, there is no single traumatic event that caused me to be wary of opening up to other people. I’ve just always had a difficult time with it. Call it shyness, call it awkward social skills, call it whatever you want. Unfortunately, it’s just how I am.

When I do get published, which me will readers think they know?

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

One response to “Sort and sift, shine and polish.

  • alltheseblessedthings

    SUCH an interesting thought. Although media is dynamic, it’s still one-dimensional. I read a really great article in college called “Somehow Form a Family” by author Tony Early. He writes about his growing up years as seen through the veil of whatever was on television during certain periods of his life. He really had a thing for Cindy Brady (the youngest on The Brady Bunch), and he actually saw her in an airport when he got older. I don’t remember if he spoke with her, but until he saw the woman who ACTED the character, it didn’t occur to him that she was anything but a cute little blond kid. I think of how many random friends really love Rachel Green from Friends and think they have some sort of connection to the person Jennifer Aniston whom they’ve never met.

    All that to say, it’ll be interesting for you to do a book tour one day and discover which you people have connected to. Either way, it’s not the real you, but just a piece of you, a veiled, slightly one-dimensional you. And I think it’s safe to guard the real you and protect him for the people you love and who truly know you.

Leave a Reply

