The continuing mission.

As of this writing, I am a few thousand words deep in my 60-day manuscript. Unfortunately, I’m not entirely sure I will be able to make it to completion in my established time frame. I’m finding that the story is bigger in writing than it was in theory. It’s always different when you have to show instead of tell. Luckily, I have a narrator who does not care much for the conventions of fiction writing. How I love writing in his voice. You will meet him soon, I promise. I will probably devote an entire entry to him in the future; perhaps after I have a bit more to show for the story.

I’m writing today for a different reason. I want to introduce you to one of the reasons why I write.

This isn’t going to be a Works That Shaped Me post, though I do have one in the works that I should be publishing soon. No, this is a different kind of inspiration. This isn’t something that inspired me to start writing—this is something that inspires me to keep writing.

Ladies and gentlemen, I introduce you to my son, Liam:

The continuing mission

My wife Michelle took that picture while I played the guitar for him one night. He was enthralled, and I loved every minute of it. I am writing a song for him right now, and I hope to make it one of the next things I record. But I digress.

He is an unbelievable inspiration when it comes to writing. When I was writing my fantasy story (which I do intend to pick up again once I finish this manuscript), I thought about the kind of story I would want to tell to my children one day. Then I had a child. . . making it even more endearing. That’s another one that I can’t wait to write, and it’s almost entirely for that reason.

However, I remain steadfast in my goal. I will finish this story for the first time. I have had it mapped out in its entirety for years. In the next couple of months, it will finally be on paper. That is my mission. Getting to the point where I can include him in the fun? That’s the incentive.

And it’s working.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

2 responses to “The continuing mission.

  • Donna

    Yes, Liam can and will be inspiration and motivation for you. Your father and I believe in you and your talent. You can do this. But even if it’s only for your family to read (stories) or hear (songs), you are successful in our eyes because you are true to yourself. We are very proud of you and love you, Michelle and Liam very much.

Leave a Reply

