So … We Meet Again.

I’m a bad blogger. A bad, bad blogger.

It’s been 22 days since my last entry. There are all sorts of reasons I could get into to explain the lapse, but, in reality, it’s because I’ve had nothing writing-related to report. I did, however, spend a week at the beach with my family. That was nice. But you didn’t come here to read about that, did you?

I’m still working on various short stories, with The Boy Who Cried Apocalypse taking up most of my writing time. I am also in the planning stages of the next iteration of my novel and, though I say this every single time, I am hopeful.

My strength seems to be in creating self-contained short stories rather than longer narratives. So, instead of forcing myself to try and write something longer than my attention span allows, I will write to my strengths. This new version of the novel is going to be comprised of several different interrelated short stories. This way, all the story threads remain separate from each other while still allowing me the opportunity to cross them into a web of sorts. There is no pressure of the continuity that a novel demands. Plus, I actually stand a chance of finishing it this way.

I’m working on an entry that should be ready for tomorrow, a continuation of my entry on The Boy Who Cried Apocalypse complete with a new excerpt. So, tune in tomorrow for that one. If you haven’t forgotten me, that is.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

Leave a Reply

