A Good Story, Part 2

In my first “A Good Story” entry (and, consequently, the first entry of this blog), I wrote about starting a bedtime tradition with Liam. Every night, Michelle and I would lie on our bed with him, and I would read one chapter of a story. We started with The Magician’s Nephew, the first book in C.S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia series. We fully expected to go through the entire series before starting something different, but life got in the way. Our lives became busier, Liam’s bedtime became earlier, and it became harder to actually slow down for fifteen minutes and take the time to read to him.

But we’re changing that. This is something Michelle and I have both wanted to do, and we are rededicating ourselves to it. It also helps that Liam is desperately in need of a bedtime routine.

A Wrinkle In TimeLast night, we started reading A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle. It was purchased the night before on an impromptu run to McKay, the local used book superstore. I remembered reading it when I was in elementary school . . . and being absolutely enthralled with the story.

Once we walked through the doors, I was on a mission. First, I wanted to expand my Gaiman collection. Second, I wanted to find A Wrinkle In Time. Luckily, I was successful on both fronts. But I will save my love for McKay for another entry.

Last night, we gave Liam a bath in the kitchen sink, then got ready to put him to bed. After he was washed and changed, we all lied down on the bed and snuggled in for a story. Liam was particularly more interested in the book than the last time I read to him; he wouldn’t stop reaching for it. I would love to think that he is already developing a love for literature . . . but I know he’s just looking for something else to stick in his mouth. Because he tried. A lot.

I want to believe that story time helps him wind down and get ready to go to sleep. I do know for a fact that it doesn’t hurt. And Michelle and I both seem to benefit from the added calm Liam time. So, here’s hoping we can keep it up this time.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

One response to “A Good Story, Part 2

  • Michelle

    I think with this story.. you are really more reading to me than Liam.. I mean.. the routine is nice for him, but the story has me intrigued. I am glad I never read it!

Leave a Reply

