The Road, Part 1

My wife and I recently made a decision. Well . . . to be more accurate, my wife made a decision and I decided to go along with it. But regardless of how said decision came about, it was still made. And this is that decision:

We are going to be a healthy family. We are going to be an active family.

As part of that decision, we decided it was time to stop talking about exercising and getting in shape . . . and just effin’ do it already. So that’s what we’re doing. And it’s kicking our collective ass. In a good way.

Right now, physically, we are on the road to where we want to be. And the car we are driving is called P90X.

P90XP90X, or Power 90 Extreme, is an intensive 90-day home fitness program that combines a variety of exercise styles, including strength training, cardio, yoga, plyometrics, and stretching (quoted from Wikipedia’s P90X entry).

P90X is also the hardest workout I’ve ever had in my life. I have never grunted and strained so much from an exercise routine, and several of the workouts have had me almost yelling from the pain involved. It pushes you harder than you think is possible, but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t seem to be working. I can already tell a difference in how I feel, and we’ve only been doing the program for a matter of days.

I’ve never exactly been an exercise enthusiast. I walk occasionally. I’ve had a couple of different gym memberships here and there. But I’ve never really been dedicated to working out regularly and eating well. Up until now, I’ve had my metabolism working for me — but, as I’ve been told numerous times by numerous people, that won’t last.

I want to look better. I want to feel better. And when Liam gets older and starts running all over the house (and the yard, and the neighbor’s yard, and down the street, etc.), I want to be able to keep up with him and catch him without collapsing. I want him to be able to play with his Papa as often as he wants.

Occasionally, it feels like the workout should be renamed P90R, the R standing for “Ridiculous.” Michelle, in particular, is not fond of the Yoga X workout, mostly because she feels it basically just threw a bunch of yoga moves together to make a workout instead of actually following the purpose and principles of yoga. I know nothing of those principles, so it didn’t really bother me. The repetitiveness did a bit, however. But, in the end, I was satisfied. And, especially after the workout the previous day, some of the stretches felt pretty damn good.

Of the workouts I’ve done so far, my favorite has been Kenpo X, which I assume is like the P90X version of Tae-Bo. You’re on your feet the whole time, and a lot of the moves allow me to recall my time taking Tae Kwan Do when I was younger. Make no mistake, though; this workout is just as hard as the others. It just happens to be a little more fun.

So here we are at the beginning of the road. And, lucky you, you get to come along with us. It’s sure to be a hell of a ride.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

One response to “The Road, Part 1

  • BABP: My First Post «

    […] absolutely terrible.. but I could definitely step it up. Especially considering I have convinced my husband to enter the world of P90X with me. Oi. If I was being diligent…I could be kicking some serious blubber right […]

Leave a Reply

