272.

I am counting down to a day in the near future, a day that I have decided will be the beginning of the rest of my life. Every day that leads up to that one will be in preparation for what comes after. Every day that passes afterward will be in celebration of having everything I could ever want.

In 272 days, I will be vindicated. I will be redeemed. I will be washed and made clean again.

It seems like forever. But compared to forever, it seems like no time at all. And “forever” is exactly what this is concerning. A couple hundred days is nothing compared to forever.

[Note: Yes, I am aware of exactly how vague I am being. It’s just something I do.]

Here’s to the beginning of the beginning of forever. May these days pass like seconds, but may the memories created be cherished as long as I live.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

Leave a Reply

