Her Eyes.

There are cultures that believe the eyes are the window to the soul. I happen to agree with them. There is so much you can tell about a person simply by looking into their eyes. Even when their words are less than honest, their eyes never lie.

For the longest time, this was all I knew of her. She would never let me see her eyes. Was she afraid of showing me her soul? I may never know. However, she did show me her eyes eventually. And I was captivated.

Her eyes have always held me. I lose myself in them and often wonder what lies behind them. What messages are they trying to send? Do they fully understand the power they have over me? Does she?

I suppose she does now. And that doesn’t worry me at all. I trust she is the type of person who will use this power for good. She always has before, after all.

There have been so many times over the last few years when I didn’t know who I was for one reason or another. Whether I had forgotten or whether I had just lost myself in something else, there was always one thing that could bring me back. When I couldn’t look in the mirror, when I couldn’t see myself, I could always look through her eyes and see what she saw. I can always find myself simply by looking into her eyes.

Her eyes

Do you see? There I am. Right there, over in that corner. Look harder; I’m sure you’ll find me eventually.

So if you ever need me, that’s where I’ll be. It’s where I plan to be forever.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

Leave a Reply

