Soapbox: Just Sing The Damn Song.

After watching Christina Aguilera’s performance of the Star Spangled Banner this past Sunday at the Super Bowl, I feel the need to write about something that has bothered me for a very long time. You could say it’s a pet peeve of mine — one of oh so many. But first, a little background:

I am a musical person. I have played piano for nearly twenty years and guitar for around twelve or so. I have been singing since I was seven years old. At one time, I was a member of the Chattanooga Boys Choir, so I at least know that I was pretty good when I was young. Objectively speaking, I would say I have a decent voice, but I do admit to having a very limited range and some slight problems with staying in key. Needless to say, you won’t see me on American Idol anytime soon.

However, having a musical background has certainly given me an idea of the way things are supposed to sound. And Christina … your singing style isn’t it.

Ladies and gentlemen, this is what is known as a note:

Middle C About this sound Play ( help · info ) .

Image via Wikipedia

This particular note is known as Middle C. However, that is not important. What is important is that an increasingly large number of singers have no idea how to hold one of these. Instead, they feel the need to tap-dance all over a note instead of just hitting it and moving on to the next one.

You know what I’m talking about. Some singers out there feel the need to show off rather than just sing. In the process, they cause ears all throughout their audience to bleed. It’s not impressive; it’s annoying. Miss Aguilera is one of the worst perpetrators of this act, incorporating it into almost every single live performance.

I don’t care that she flubbed the lyrics. She was singing at the Super Bowl in front of over 100 million people (both in the stadium and watching at home); it’s understandable even for a singer of her status to be nervous and stumble. What killed me was her recovery, which included her infamous over-singing style peppered with bits of her equally annoying yelling-as-singing toward the end of the song. It was absolutely horrible, and I don’t see how anyone could possibly defend it.

Over-singing does not display your talent. Instead, it covers it up. It destroys whatever song you’re trying to sing. So, please, for the love of all that is good and holy in the music genre … just stop. Just sing the damn song, and stop trying to spice it up.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

2 responses to “Soapbox: Just Sing The Damn Song.

Leave a Reply

