Simple Math.

A new idea has been born out of a conversation Michelle and I had yesterday. We were driving home, having a “what if?” type of discussion, and I mentioned that the scenario we were talking about had the makings of a good alternate universe-type story.

I explained one story possibility, and she liked the idea. Then she had an idea of her own. After that, we kept firing different story ideas back and forth that could be set in the fictional universe we had just created, stopping after I had jotted just under a dozen down in my notebook. It was a very exciting conversation, and now I have something else in which to pour my much-touted (by my wife, of course) writing talents.

The stories themselves are all character pieces, examining different reactions to a reality that we could never imagine. They follow the example of my favorite type of story — a story where the setting is as real-world and realistic as it could possibly be … with just one difference that makes that world strikingly different from our own. I love having just a hint of fantasy in my stories.

Right now, I am working on basic outlines for each of the stories that will encompass this new idea. I don’t know whether to call it a novel or a collection. All I know is that I am excited about it. It has been a long time since an idea came together so quickly and effortlessly. It would be absolutely marvelous if the manuscript could do the same.

Of course, I know it won’t. But I’ll hope for it all the same.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

2 responses to “Simple Math.

Leave a Reply

