Collaborate.

Let’s revisit some old territory.

For those who may not remember, I am a geek. I wrote about this fact with quite a bit of detail here, but I felt it might bear repeating. More specifically, I am a geek who enjoys roleplaying games and the fantasy genre in general. I always knew I would like to write something in that genre, and I even began to develop an idea for my own series of fantasy novels. I would still like to revisit that territory some day.

For now, though … I have a project.

My best friend Josh (read about his misadventures here) and I have been roleplaying ever since we’ve known each other — over ten years now. In those years, we have created some pretty incredible characters and stories at the table. And now, we’re finally writing one of them down.

This series of stories will follow a hobbit, a dwarf and a human that forge an unbreakable friendship through the most random of circumstances. None are heroes in their own right, but the perils they encounter during their travels bring out the best (and occasionally, the worst) in them. They make many friends and enemies along the way, often gaining notoriety and infamy without any real effort on their part. Their story has always been an interesting one, and now we are attempting to share it with the world.

In general, Josh is creating the main idea of the story, sending me chapter overviews by email, along with a few detail blurbs here and there. I’m expanding the idea, peppering the scenes with dialogue and detail — “novelizing” it, in his own words. The hobbit was his character, so he comes up with the majority of that character’s dialogue. I write nearly all of the human’s dialogue, since he was my player-character. The dwarf was the character of a friend of ours, and his dialogue is more of a collaboration. Luckily, the dwarf was a character of few words anyway. Trust me when I say that he always said more when he wasn’t saying anything.

I hope to be finished with the first chapter in the next few days. I’ve found that it is much easier to work from notes than it is to try and brainstorm as I am writing. I always get caught up in the structure and the appearance of everything, making sure that it is as polished as possible before I move on. My perfectionism certainly has its pros and cons. But, this way, I only have to work on the structure and the detail — the story is right there in front of me. It’s marvelous, really.

This is my first collaboration, hopefully the first of many. Hopefully my excitement will transfer to the page.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

4 responses to “Collaborate.

Leave a Reply

