Progress.

This is an exciting time for me. Mostly … because I’m actually writing something. It’s fantastic, and it doesn’t seem to happen nearly as often as it should.

I have started work on the idea I mentioned in one of my more recent entries, a collection of stories set in a world where the balance between free will and predestination has been permanently upset. After writing that sentence, I realized just how much of my work has to do with that same theme. My other novel idea deals with it also, as do several of my short stories. Hmm. It’s interesting what fiction can reveal about reality sometimes; in particular, what it can reveal about the mind of the author.

As of this entry, I have ten stories that make up the collection. I’m sure that number will change as I continue writing, and I’m even more certain that the stories themselves will change the further I get into the idea. The stories are connected by theme and setting, but not by characters or time period. For now, at least. I do love to mix things up and sprinkle bits from one story into another, so I wouldn’t be surprised if I did the same here.

I have already finished one of the stories, the introductory chapter of the collection. It offers a short glimpse into the world these stories occupy, as well as the scientific breakthrough that has made it drastically different from our own.

It seems that, with this idea, I am only limited by what my mind can come up with. This is an entire world with an infinite amount of stories to tell. I just have to choose the ones that tell their story the best way. I am already preparing myself to write entire stories and toss them aside, like a director trimming his masterpiece and leaving filmstrips on the cutting room floor. I know it will happen.

I really have a feeling that this will be something special. And if it wasn’t for my wonderful wife and her encouragement, I never would have developed this idea. It would have simply faded, resigned to the same fate as the dozens of other ideas that have slipped into nothing. She is my greatest fan, and the only one I will ever need.

Ah, progress. We meet again. Please, stay a while this time, would you?

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

One response to “Progress.

  • Michelle

    Well..it’s about damn time. For a new blog entry, I mean. And yes, I believe I am your biggest fan. I hope I always will be. I hope some creepy stalker doesn’t surpass me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

