Day 9: Zouin

NOTE: This is the ninth entry in my “From Main To Morocco” blog series, chronicling my ten-day trip to various cities in the country of Morocco. Click here to read more entries in this series.

Zouin (pronounced “zwin”) is an Arabic word that means “beautiful.” It is the best word I could possibly use to describe the Essaouira coastline. You’ll see why once you scroll down. Pictures cannot do it justice.

We visited the medina again this afternoon, and we had a bit more time for exploring than we did last night. We did a little more shopping (with Judy, there always seems to be some shopping — not that there’s anything wrong with that), and we had lunch at a quaint little cafe with a mix of different cuisines. The highlight of the afternoon, however, was the ramparts — and the truly spectacular view they offered.

Ramparts

Ships and Seagulls

Medina

Essaouira Coastline

There are many, many more, but I figured I would only post a few. The view was truly amazing, and I only wish the camera I had with me on this trip came equipped with a panorama setting. Oh well. I’ll just have to remember that for next time. Ha.

Seriously, though … I will.

We stayed on the ramparts for quite a while, just talking amongst ourselves and taking in the ocean air. It was peaceful and, honestly, much needed; if it wasn’t for the fact that someone like me would have surely burned to a crisp, we could have stayed out there all afternoon. But, alas, we had to leave. Our time was, and always is, rather limited in these parts it seems.

For dinner tonight, we headed back into the medina after a short rest at the hotel, settling on a Thai place called the Green Wok. I have only tried Thai food a handful of times, and I’ve never quite taken to it. However, this was terrific. I had wok chicken with baby corn, mushrooms, green and red peppers, onions, cashews and a very, very tasty sauce. It was a newer place, so the owner (and cook) of the establishment came up to our table and asked us to write a review for his restaurant on tripadvisor.com (which I plan on doing once I get home; he was very hospitable, and I feel that hospitality should be rewarded … particularly in a place where it is not necessarily expected).

After dinner, we stopped by the same crepe place we went to last night and doubled down on the dessert. Crepes and Nutella — such a good combination. It’s the simple things, you know.

This was our last night in Essaouira. Tomorrow, we head back to Marrakech for one more night in Morocco, and then we’ll be heading home. It’s a weird feeling, really. On one hand, the time has absolutely flown by. On the other, remembering back to the first day we were here, it feels like months ago. Being strangers in a strange (to us) land, it didn’t take long to acclimate. However, I do have to admit that it will be nice to get back to a place where everyone speaks the same language I do.

Well, I’m off to call my wife and then head to bed. I’ll see all of you tomorrow evening from the medina of Marrakech. I’ll leave you with the Essaouira sky at sunset. Until tomorrow….

Essaouira Sunset

It really doesn’t get much better than that.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

Leave a Reply

