Status Update.

Hello, dear reader. You may have forgotten who I am. It’s certainly been long enough, hasn’t it? I’ll try to keep that from happening too often. You see, life has been busy. Unbelievably busy. Crazy busy. So busy that I need a word longer than “busy” to accurately describe it. But it’s also been exciting. And scary. And fulfilling. And a whole list of adjectives that would more than likely begin to bore you after the fourth or fifth.

So what has happened? Let me explain.

No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

I got a job in Nashville. It paid much more than my last job, and promised to take me places that my last job seemingly had no intention of taking me. That was exciting. That was scary. Getting a job with a growing company where I would be helping to rebuild their e-commerce marketing from the ground up was exciting. Moving to a new city where I knew no one and starting a job where I knew no one and experiencing change after change after change was scary. As anyone who knows me can attest to, I am a creature of habit, and I tend to both fear and abhor change. But change is necessary. Change is healthy. At least, that’s what I tell myself when my thoughts slip and I lose my breath. Regardless, the job is going wonderfully. I feel respected, and I have made several contributions to the company that have my supervisors singing my praises and constantly telling me how “phenomenal” I’m doing. It’s a good feeling, and, professionally, I am very happy.

I am taking a break from school this semester to adjust to the new location and the new job. Because of this, I have more time to write and spend with my family — both of which I have been doing a lot of. I’m hard at work on several different things: my first novel, my web serial, and a bible for a fantasy series that I’d love to write someday. It’s an exciting time creatively for me, and I hope I can have something ready for submission soon. I want to capitalize on this time away from school and work on actually getting some work published.

The family is doing great. We’re all adjusting to the new home, and we’re working on actually adding home-type things like furniture and internet. But we still have our pizza nights, complete with bean bag chairs and family-friendly movies, and we have our book readings and our library trips. Things are slowly settling into a routine, which is rather marvelous and awe-inspiring considering the situation.

Also, our family is growing. This summer, Liam will have a little brother or sister. We should be finding out very soon which it will be. I have my theory, Michelle has hers. Once we know, so will you. We’re way too excited to withhold any information.

So . . . that’s what’s been happening. Hopefully, I can keep up with current events and there won’t be a need to do this again.

It’s good to be back.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

3 responses to “Status Update.

  • Michael Lomuscio

    Sounds super busy! Your fantasy bible sounds really interesting. What is it going to be like?

    • [rlh]

      The fantasy story is a series set in a world with airships and empires and such. There’s a little bit of steampunk influence, but not too much. Right now, I’m writing the history of the world itself and all of its countries, plus character backgrounds, religions, monetary systems, all of that. It’s quite fun creating an entire world from scratch. Time-consuming, though.

  • Mamaw

    Ryan, I am so proud of you and your family. I know it had to be so scary for you when you left Chattanooga and started a new job in Nashville. I am glad that you have your family with you now, you have grown up so much in the past year. I love you, Michelle, Liam and the baby too and you all will always be in my thoughts and prayers. Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

