Catching Up With The Criminals.

Recently, I began a web serial about a group of supervillains who actually managed to triumph over (read: kill) their collective superhero nemesis. The first chapter, which was written as a comic script nearly four years ago and then adapted into prose for the project, was published online on December 12, 2012. On the landing site for the series, I announced that the next chapter would be released on January 21, 2013.

Yeah . . . that didn’t happen. Why do I even bother setting deadlines?

Originally, this was going to be a monthly series. And it probably could have been, provided I didn’t have a rather demanding job and a handful of other writing projects I like to spend time working on. Not to mention things like family, friends, and, you know, life. With those factors in mind, One Less Hero will probably become a bi-monthly to whenever-the-hell-I-can-publish-it series. Good thing I already have the whole thing outlined, or it would probably take even longer.

But here’s the good news: it is happening. I’m almost finished with my initial draft of the second chapter, and I’ll soon be subjecting it to my harsh and unforgiving red pen for edits. It’s amazing what kind of things you don’t notice when you’re writing that you can’t help but notice when you’re reading. After that, I’ll probably be submitting it to The Reader, since her wealth of reading experience and remarkable literary taste make her pretty much the best editor an author could possibly have. Sure, this type of story isn’t really her thing, but I figure if I can keep her attention for a superhero story, it’s good enough to let out into the world.

So mark your calendars—here’s the next release date for me to potentially miss: March 30, 2013.

Will I make it? There’s only one way to find out.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

Leave a Reply

