Keeping Promises.

In my last blog, I promised that I was working on the second chapter of my online serial, and that it would be up by March 31st.

Yeah, I laughed a little bit as I was writing that. I knew it probably wouldn’t happen. And if you know me at all, you knew it probably wouldn’t happen either.

Oh, believe me, I had every intention of finishing it and publishing it by then. I always do. But then my muse got the better of me, and I was drawn away from it by another story that I began working on a little over a month ago. The good news is: that story is almost finished, and I believe it is one of my best to date. For anyone interested, I will post an email link in this blog once it is finished, and anyone who wishes to read it will be sent a PDF. Be warned though: at over 11,000 words long (so far), it is technically a novella. Not bad for something I originally envisioned as a short, theme-oriented story about taking control of your own life. As tends to happen, I started writing the story, but my characters are the ones who picked it up from there. But you’ll read about that one after it’s finished—which won’t be long now.

As for One Less Hero, I ended up doing exactly what I figured I would do if I sat on it long enough: I decided to rewrite it. I didn’t like the direction the second chapter was headed; it just didn’t have that “special” feel that I enjoyed so much about the first one. It was a straight continuation of the events of the first chapter instead of the standalone format that I originally set out to write for each installment. But that has all changed now. I found the direction it needed to go, and work will recommence on it shortly. I’m not going to lay out a date this time; there’s no sense in making promises that my creative side will not possibly allow me to keep. To paraphrase a wise, if fictional, old man: my work is never late, nor is it early; it arrives precisely when it means to. Just know that once it is published, it will be exactly what I want it to be—not something I rushed to meet a deadline.

I’m also working on a western manuscript I started a little over a year ago. Based in part on the Brother Eli persona I created for the 2011 season of Ruby Falls Haunted Cavern, it’s the story of a bounty hunter trailing a preacher wanted for the very public execution of a mayor in his own town square. An extremely charismatic man, the preacher attracts followers to his own twisted code, warping minds and leaving a trail of bodies in his wake. As always, I love creating complex and thought-provoking villains, and Eli is no different. When I last left off, I was maybe halfway through the story and already at around 9,000 words. I’ll be making some changes to it and editing it down quite a bit, but I still see it possibly going the short novel route.

Add to those my ongoing novel manuscript, plus developing two different fantasy series, and you have a man with a very busy mind. The trick, it seems, is getting my hands to do the work.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

One response to “Keeping Promises.

Leave a Reply

