Tweet Tweet.

For years now, I have resisted the pull of the social media platform known as Twitter. Of course, when I say “pull,” what I really mean to say is “vague curiosity and general confusion about its purpose.” I didn’t see the point. And, to be honest, I still don’t. I don’t understand why it is so popular to express oneself in 140 characters or less. I don’t understand why, at any given time, anybody really cares what Kim Kardashian is thinking about—if anything. Ever.

Regardless, I signed up anyway.

I had to, you understand. You see, I have this little web series I would like to promote, and social media is a fantastic way to do that. I created a Facebook page for it, and I’m working on a WordPress site to gather all the issues once more start coming out. My last holdout was Twitter, and I realized that I couldn’t market it right without taking advantage of as many channels as possible. So I did what I thought I would never do, and I created a Twitter account.

To try and set it apart from the series itself, I decided to make it more than just a place for me to post updates. Instead, I called it @deadzonesdiary and chose to focus on the main character of the series, turning the Twitter feed into a stream of consciousness narrative where he speaks directly to the readers.

Yes, he breaks the fourth wall. It’s a somewhat cheesy trope in comics, but I’ll be damned if it isn’t fun to write.

I’ve enjoyed the Twitter feed so far. It’s given me a way to promote and, in some ways, continue the story of C.E.A.S.E. while the second issue comes together. I hope to finish a draft of that issue in the next few days, which means I might actually be able to have the second issue ready to read by the end of October. Maybe I should shoot for a Halloween launch? We’ll just have to see.

About [rlh]

Ryan L. Haddock is an aspiring writer, emphasis on the "aspiring." He mostly writes short stories, but that is only because he doesn't seem to have the attention span necessary to write a novel. At least, not yet. He is also a husband and a father . . . yet he is still struggling valiantly against the notion that he has to grow up. View all posts by [rlh]

One response to “Tweet Tweet.

Leave a Reply

